clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Guest in the home of the Ancient Egyptian Gods

The Karnak Temple is one of the reasons I desperately wanted to visit Luxor. Some say that Karnak is Egypt’s most important Pharaonic site, even more so than the famous Giza Pyramids. I agree, but for me Karnak is so much more. It is one of the most beautiful and most impressive places I have ever seen!

Karnak had been Egypt’s power base throughout the ancient Middle and New Kingdom and still today, you can see nearly every Pharaoh‘s mark hidden somewhere in the Temple.

 

On the second day of my Nile Cruise (only a breakfast and a few hours after my balloon ride), I experienced the powerful presence of the home of the ancient Egyptian Gods and the seat of the Pharaoh and the priestly ruling cast myself. And I was blown away! What an amazing place! I found it really difficult to capture the greatness of the Karnak Temple in pictures, it was far too…. well, great! But see for yourself:

19 comments on “Guest in the home of the Ancient Egyptian Gods

  1. Steven
    July 24, 2013

    Nice post and great snaps. Yep, an inspiring post. Thanks for the ping back.

    • clumsyfool
      July 24, 2013

      Thank you so much! Although I must admit that in reality it’s much greater.
      You’re welcome πŸ™‚

  2. Cathy Ulrich
    July 24, 2013

    Wow! The energy there must be amazing. Great shots, too!

    • clumsyfool
      July 24, 2013

      It was! It’s unbelievable after thousands of years! I can’t imagine what it must have been like in ancient times when everything was whole and coloured!

  3. April
    July 24, 2013

    Jealous, inspired, intrigued… pick one, they all fit. πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting so many pictures – I was captivated by each one. It must have been amazing to try and contemplate the amount of history you were experiencing! One of these days…I hope I get to, too. πŸ™‚

    • clumsyfool
      July 24, 2013

      Thank you for your lovely comment.
      I am really glad my pictures made you feel that way. To be honest, I sneak a peek at them every now and then, just to make sure that all really happened, that I really was there. It just all seemed too good to be true, surreal, like in a dream (a very good one).
      I’ve done all my research on the ancient Egyptian history and Karnak and everything, but that doesn’t help grasping it, it just makes it all appear even greater than it already is (if that’s even possible).
      I really hope that you can see it for yourself. I am sure that like me, you will be overwhelmed and feel like you landed in a dream. If you do go, I advise you to take a Nile cruise , Luxor- Aswan (and Abu Simbel). It might be a bit expensive, but it’s definitely worth it. That was the best trip I have ever taken in my life!
      Thanks again for commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Fiona Deal
    July 25, 2013

    Like you, Karnak is one of my favourite places on earth and, I agree, one of the most difficult to photograph – although I’d say you did a pretty good job. Really brings it all back.

    • clumsyfool
      July 25, 2013

      I can’t imagine a person who’d not be touched in some way, by a place like Karnak.
      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me. It took me a long time to decide which pictures I should put up – there are so many of them..
      Where else in Egypt have you been?

      • Fiona Deal
        July 26, 2013

        I’m lucky to have travelled a lot in Egypt – spent lots of time in Luxor as well as a couple of trips to Cairo and a couple of Nile cruises. Also did the Lake Nasser cruise a few years back, approaching Abu Simbel by water was amazing !! Nowadays I write light-hearted adventure/mystery stories based in Egypt. I’ve published three, available on Amazon – it means I can still travel there in my imagination, even when I’m not able to be there for real !!

      • clumsyfool
        July 26, 2013

        wow, that sounds amazing!
        What are the novels called?

      • Fiona Deal
        July 27, 2013

        The first one is called ‘Carter’s Conundrums’, then ‘Tutankhamun’s Triumph’ and ‘Hatshepsut’s Hideaway’. Just seen your post about Luxor temple – another set og great pics.

      • clumsyfool
        July 27, 2013

        I’ll have a look whether I can find them somewhere.
        Thank you! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Clash of Times and Religions – The Luxor Temple, a place beyond time | clumsyfool

  6. westiedad
    July 27, 2013

    Stunning – love those colours πŸ™‚

  7. barootm
    July 29, 2013

    a very nice blog you have!

    • clumsyfool
      July 29, 2013

      Thank you very much! I’m glad you like it .
      And thanks for following me πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Temple of Horus, Edfu – A clear view into the past | clumsyfool

  9. Pingback: Ancient Egyptian art information about mammals | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2013 by in Happiness, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,415 hits
