clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

The Temple of the only female Pharaoh

A dream come true! I’ve always wanted to go to Luxor (the ancient Thebes), but because it is so far away from Cairo and I have only one day off a week – far too little time to enjoy all the ancient attractions Luxor has to offer – I thought I would not be able to go. But my host mother arranged a 5-day cruise for me, so I could go to Luxor, Aswan and Abu Simbel! Can you believe that?

It has been the most amazing trip I’ve ever taken!

 

On the first day, straight after arriving in Luxor (I still had my suitcase and everything), I went to the Temple of Hatshepsut, the temple build by the only woman who even reigned as Pharaoh. It lies on Luxor’s West Bank and consists of a series of sweeping terraces set against a vertiginous mountain backdrop.

It really is spectacular! Have a look…

7 comments on “The Temple of the only female Pharaoh

  1. edmooneyphotography
    July 22, 2013

    Lucky you, I’m so jealous, stunning images, 🙂

    • clumsyfool
      July 23, 2013

      Definitely lucky, yes! It was the best trip I ever took!
      And thank you very much!

  2. Cathy Ulrich
    July 22, 2013

    Wonderful! What a great opportunity! I love your views of the temple as you approach it from a distance!

    • clumsyfool
      July 23, 2013

      It really was amazing! I definitely plan on going back there in a few years.
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment!

  3. Pingback: A Panorama view of Luxor | clumsyfool

  4. Pingback: Guest in the home of the Ancient Egyptian Gods | clumsyfool

  5. Pingback: Clash of Times and Religions – The Luxor Temple, a place beyond time | clumsyfool

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2013 by in Happiness, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 575 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,422 hits
