clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Down, down, down – Me between Bent and Red in Dahshur

Yesterday I told you that I went to Saqqara on my free day. That’s perfectly true, but I also went to Dahshur and Memphis.

One at the time; First Saqqara, now Dahshur and if you check in tomorrow or the day after, you’ll find my post about Memphis.

 

Anyway, in short: Dahshur is the home to the Red Pyramid, due to some ancient red graffiti, I think. And also to the Bent Pyramid – sounds weird and it is kind of weird. The pyramid starts with steep walls, but then half way through they decided to build a shallower slope. The Bent Pyramid is considered to be the first ‘proper’ pyramid, because all previous pyramids were stepped.

Both the pyramids in Dahshur were build in the 4th dynasty by king Sneferu, that’s the father of Khufu, who build the Great Pyramid I saw in Giza.

 

Oh, before I forget it. I climbed up the Red Pyramid – well half-way up, to be honest – and then down to the tombs. Let me tell you, it’s a long, long way down there (and more importantly, up again!). Long, very steep and it has a very, very low ceiling! Nobody who is over 1 meter 20 will have a fun time going down there!

6 comments on “Down, down, down – Me between Bent and Red in Dahshur

  1. lalarukh1
    July 8, 2013

    Looks like a nice trip … You must had great fun ! Lovely blog xx

    • clumsyfool
      July 8, 2013

      It is very nice indeed! Although it’s also a lot of work and very exhausting!
      Thank you so much! And thank you for following my blog! xxx

  2. Cathy Ulrich
    July 9, 2013

    Very cool shots and wonderful commentary about these two interesting pyramids. So, going inside the Red Pyramid, were there artifacts, or chambers? Or what did you see? Fascinating!

    • clumsyfool
      July 9, 2013

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment!
      No, there were no artefacts, but two chambers. Neither had any pictures or writings on the wall. The first one was just an empty room (I took the pictures of the wooden stairs and the tunnel up/down from there) and the other one had rocks at the bottom – I think that’s where the tombs were. Both had those cool pyramid ceilings, those that look like stairs.
      If you have any more questions about any of the places I have been to, please don’t hesitate to ask me!

  3. Iamrcc
    July 10, 2013

    Thank you for the visit, the like of my post “Lightly Pink” and deciding to follow me.

    • clumsyfool
      July 11, 2013

      I really didn’t have a choice, your blog is great! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in Happiness, Photography, Travel.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,415 hits
