clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Walking on ancient ground – A clumsy fool in Saqqara

Yesterday I had one of my rare days off work. I decided to use this quiet, children free time wisely and to continue my sightseeing trip. In the Cairo area, Saqqara was definitely on my ‘have-to-go-there’ list – don’t laugh! I do have such a list! When I go to a country I’ve always wanted to visit, with as little as one free day a week, I at least want to see all the famous and interesting places! Who wouldn’t? Anyway, those of you who stop by my blog from time to time will know that I have already been to the Egyptian Museum (Outside the best museum in the world), the Cairo Tower (Cairo from a different angle) and in Giza (Large and Pointy), next on my list was Saqqara.

 

For people who aren’t as crazy as me and don’t know their Egyptian history: Saqqara was the burial ground for some of ancient Egypt’s earliest rulers (and some of their courtiers). It is also the place where Egypt’s first (step) pyramid was build for king Djoser and happens to be one of the richest archaeological sites in Egypt.

But enough of that, here are the photos. Enjoy!

 

8 comments on “Walking on ancient ground – A clumsy fool in Saqqara

  1. cd1972
    July 7, 2013

    Great pictures!

  2. ruthincolorado
    July 7, 2013

    What a collection! I would love to visit Egypt. Is that a pack of wild dogs by the bus? 😦

    • clumsyfool
      July 7, 2013

      Thank you very much! You definitely should, it’s amazing!
      Yes, it is. There are a lot wild dogs here, and even more wild cats.

  3. Cathy Ulrich
    July 8, 2013

    Thank you for taking us on your journey. Wonderful photos and I’m so glad you got the time to go!

    • clumsyfool
      July 8, 2013

      You are very welcome! I get to travel the world every day when reading other people’s wonderful blogs, so it’s only fare to repay the favour. Also, putting the pictures up makes the whole experience more real…
      Thank you very much! and believe me, I am glad too 🙂

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment! and for being such a loyal reader/viewer of my blog!

  4. Pingback: Remains of a once great imperial city | clumsyfool

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2013 by in Happiness, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,339 hits
