clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Large and Pointy

Slowly, very slowly it seeps through to me; I am really in Egypt!

Today I went to Giza and saw the pyramids and the sphinx. Wow, what an amazing sight!

The pyramids are so much larger than I imagined and I always thought that there were only 3 pyramids at Giza, but apparently there are 9 โ€“ 3 big and 6 smaller ones.

Luckily I am not claustrophobic, otherwise I wouldn’t have survived my trip down into the tomb. That was the first time in my life that I felt like a giant, but I guess walking/crawling seemingly hundreds of meters trough 1 meter high, steep tunnels does that to you…

 

I still can’t believe it really. Well, how would you feel if you stand next to one of the seven wonders of the ancient world, in a place that you only know from your history lessons and movies?

 

Anyway, I took a guided carriage tour, which didn’t only include a history lesson, great picture opportunities (sadly some of myself too…), and a visit to the tomb under the 2nd pyramid, but also an excursion into the art of papyrus and perfume making.

 

 

21 comments on “Large and Pointy

  1. ksbeth
    June 27, 2013

    How amazingly cool )

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      Thank you. It really is! I’ve got the photos and everything, but I still have a hard time believing that I was actually there…

  2. babso2you
    June 27, 2013

    What an amazing photo tour! This is one of those places that I would love to see in person too!

    Thank you for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you will enjoy my posts! – B

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      Thank you so much!
      I felt the same, I always wanted to go to Egypt, but I never imagined that I would actually go.
      I’d love to go to Luxor (the old Thebes) as well, but it’s too far away from where I work here (greater Cairo) and I don’t get enough time off. So I definitely have to return someday!

      You’re very welcome and I am sure I will! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. burnettfreelanceimagery
    June 27, 2013

    Beautiful images!

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      Thank you so much! But I assure you, it is far better in real life ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. northumbrianlight
    June 27, 2013

    This is really interesting to see – I have never been but my grandfather was there in 1917 – http://wp.me/p2p6x6-5f – one day I want to stand on the same spot as him. Have a great trip.

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      You should definitely go! It’s great without me having any history here, but it must be even better for you! I hope that you’ll be able to stand at the exact place as your grandfather! Let me know, when you do!
      and thanks a lot for commenting!

      • northumbrianlight
        June 27, 2013

        I must definitely try one day – what I so like about your post is that it provides a real sense of place – you see lots of pictures of the pyramids but rarely does the camera pull back and show the wider perspective, thanks again for sharing.

      • clumsyfool
        June 27, 2013

        Thank you!
        I always think that there’s more than one angle to anything, thats why I put some pictures of the surrounding streets up too. They are less than 2 minutes away, but knows them – next to the glorious tourist attractions, real Egypt is often forgotten.
        Thanks for the lovely comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. jadereyner
    June 27, 2013

    Wow! You really are in Egypt. Thank you so much for sharing these photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      Amazing, right? I am still working on believing it!
      I have to share it, seeing the pictures over and over agains somehow makes it more real (if that makes sense…). I am glad you like it. I will definitely continue doing it.
      thanks so much for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    • clumsyfool
      June 27, 2013

      Amazing, right? I am still working on believing it!
      I have to share it, seeing the pictures over and over agains somehow makes it more real (if that makes sense…). I am glad you like it. I will definitely continue doing it.
      thanks so much for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Fractions of the world
    July 2, 2013

    Jealous!! I was in Egypt a few weeks ago but didnโ€™t make it to the pyramidsโ€ฆ Looks like I missed out!! (P.S. The first photo doesnโ€™t seem to load)

    • clumsyfool
      July 2, 2013

      Where in Egypt did you go to?

      I’d die to go to Luxor, but I can’t get enough time off work and it’s so far away…

      Thanks for your comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Fractions of the world
        July 2, 2013

        Ha, thatโ€™s exactly where I went: Luxor! ๐Ÿ™‚ And also Marsa Alam & Cairo.

      • clumsyfool
        July 2, 2013

        Now I am the one who is jealous!

  7. Fractions of the world
    July 2, 2013

    Never mind, the photo just appeared ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Miss Harper Lee
    July 6, 2013

    What a wonderful opportunity you are having in Egypt. My humans have really enjoyed your photos!

    • clumsyfool
      July 7, 2013

      Yeah, it really is great! I am so glad I did it, despite all the riots going on here…
      Haha, tell your humans that I am glad they liked it and that there will me more ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pingback: Walking on ancient ground โ€“ A clumsy fool in Saqqara | clumsyfool

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2013 by in Everyday life, Happiness, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,415 hits
