clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Fly away!

I love airports! So many emotions! So much excitement! The excitement of going somewhere far away, experiencing new adventures, meeting new people, soaking in a different culture, reinventing yourself! The excitement and the longing of going home, see your family and friends, the comfort of your own bed and familiar surroundings!

Airports are so shiny, everything blinks and is overpriced. Also, there never seem to be enough seats! Still, I love it! You meet people from all over the world, listen to conversations in a dozen different languages and queue and wait more than you have in the last 2 years together (the latter excludes regular flyers and Brits).

For some reason, I love watching planes take off and landing. It’s incredibly fascinating and hypnotic… well, after nearly 4 hours of waiting it is! I find it unbelievable that such enormous machines can fly! Yes, I know the science behind it, but still, it just seems… well, unbelievable.

I’ve been spending a dangerously long time watching planes yesterday, nearly 10 hours I think. For more information on that and my stay in Egypt check out my travel diary.

8 comments on “Fly away!

  1. alessandro ciapanna
    June 14, 2013

    Great post! I love airports too. Anonymous, hollow, shiny, overpriced spaces, ok. But, as you say, they scream adventure…

    Here’s my airport essay, which you might like, http://ciapannaphoto.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/mexico-city-the-airport-files/

  2. Cathy Ulrich
    June 14, 2013

    Love all the planes lined up in Istanbul!

    • clumsyfool
      June 14, 2013

      Thanks, me too 🙂 Was a lucky shot. I went to an area I think you’re not suppost to be in as a traveller and got told to leave a few seconds later….
      Thanks a lot for commenting! 🙂

  3. simplybcuzimme
    June 16, 2013

    I never noticed all that lives in an airport. I usually just do what I have to do in order to catch my flight and leave. Thank Your for opening my eyes to what to expect next time I travel.

    • clumsyfool
      June 16, 2013

      I just had a lot of time to notice it. I think, in the end I spent nearly 10 hours waiting on airports that day! (for more info https://clumsyfool.wordpress.com/my-travel-diary-egypt-summer-2013/).
      Don’t know whether you have to expect that next time, if you plan your flights without canyon-wide gaps in between!
      Btw, thank you for following my blog and commenting! 🙂

      • simplybcuzimme
        June 16, 2013

        I dont but I want to, I think it would be interesting, especially for someone who lives in New York and never ever takes anything in. You are so very welcome, I really enjoy your blog. 🙂

      • clumsyfool
        June 16, 2013

        I am glad I could help then! 😀
        And thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2013 by in Everyday life, Happiness, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 575 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,422 hits
