clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Attention! Danger of infection!

Don’t worry; I am not talking about some deadly pathogen here, but about something far more contagious: HAPPINESS.

Ok, you might think “that girl is crazy” and you’re probably right, but please hear me out before you judge me.

A few days ago, I was invited to my first wedding. (I catered many when I worked in a Germany hotel, but that doesn’t.) Anyway, I only met the bride less than a year ago in my Spanish class at university, but she was kind enough to invite me to her ‘special day’. I was so excited! I didn’t really know what to expect. Where the weddings here in Scotland different from those in Germany? I ordered my dress, picked out my shoes and accessories and even memorized the way to the hotel where the wedding would be held – the last thing I wanted was to get lost and blunder into the ceremony too late! All I had to do now was to wait…

When I arrived, I knew nobody there. That wasn’t surprising, as only the family and a few close friends were invited (why was I here again? Pity, probably…). What DID surprise me was that it didn’t matter. Despite the hectic and the partial confusion of what would happen next, everybody was happy and excited and without further ado I was handed drinks and included in conversations.  Happiness is contagious. It is nearly impossible to be in a room full of laughing and smiling people and stay unaffected, let alone sad or depressed!
As I was told later, one of the couples present had lost their child only a few months ago, one man’s father had been diagnosed with cancer a few weeks back and another had signed divorce papers on that exact day. I didn’t see it. I didn’t see a single frown, not a single sad face or angry glance! The only tears shed were tears of happiness, when seeing the love of the newly married couple. Everybody locked their grief away, if only for a few hours, to share the magical moment of deeply felt love.

12512_10152716050190257_1421302428_nAfter 17 years of partnership and the birth of four beautiful children, they finally exchange rings.

 

69063_10201247127883241_541726577_nThe contract is signed….

 

confetti… the confetti thrown…

 

beautiful… and their marriage has begun (with multiple photo calls).

 

2First hurdle: cutting the cake.

 

540695_10152716215160257_1762266775_nThe second: dancing (with that beautiful, but very long dress).

 

downAnd the third: staying on your feet 😛

 

Oh, I nearly forgot. As proof that I was really there a picture of me with the bride:Unbenannt

(That’s a fake nose btw. Mine is not quite as bulb-shaped!)

4 comments on “Attention! Danger of infection!

  1. Believer
    April 15, 2013

    I enjoyed your fresh take on life, which is by the way contagious! Don’t worry to much about the traffic, people will come.

    • clumsyfool
      April 15, 2013

      Thanks a lot! And thanks so much for commenting! 🙂

      • Believer
        April 15, 2013

        Your welcome, and you know how people say “See you around” , well for us bloggers it’s “read you around”. Bye!

      • clumsyfool
        April 15, 2013

        Read you around then 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2013 by in Happiness, Photography and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,339 hits
