clumsyfool

How a weirdo sees the world…

Conversation is a dying Art

“Men have become the tools of their tools” – Henry David Thoreau

girls on their phone

We live in an age of technology. Everything is digitalised from music and books, to criminal records and even relationships.

I slowly came to turns with people finding their partners on the internet, people not leaving the house because they can buy everything on the internet and people who invent their own reality by disappearing into the virtual world of videogames. I also accept that social networks are the new way of communication , and that many people think that they have 700 ‘friends’ because it says so on Facebook.

That’s alright with me, it doesn’t affect me, it’s a free country after all. What DOES affect and greatly annoys me is that you are not able to have a normal, undisturbed conversation these days!
I am at university and trying to talk to somebody here is a real nightmare. Why? Because in the course of our conversation, the other’s mobile keeps buzzing. Not only that, but the people in question always have the compulsion to reply to the – apparently life-important- messages (maybe there’s a new mental disorder developing here). When asking, after the 4th or so buzz, whether everything is ok, whether something has happened, I mostly get answers like “…just chatting…” or “Facebook”! I find this really disconcerting that the youth of today seems to be more interested in virtual than real conversation!

I see it every day: friends sitting together, but instead of talking to each other, they are all engaged in their own texts and Facebook statuses!

headphoneConversation seems to be a dying art. Even when they are not on their phones, my friends and classmates don’t seem to be able to communicate in a ‘traditional’ way. Many of them have a headphone dangling out of one ear while talking! Are my (or somebody else’s) words not enough? Do the always need backup music! – a soundtrack to their lives? I at least feel irritated and a bit offended by this kind of behaviour. I want the other’s attention when I am talking to them. I don’t think that this is too much to ask.

If you are not even able to talk to your friends (non-electronically), how are you supposed to meet new people? …. Oh, I forgot: the internet.

8 comments on “Conversation is a dying Art

  1. Pingback: Conversition is a dying Art | Unico

    • Believer
      April 15, 2013

      This is so true, some time we (my family) were out to dinner and while my kids (all grown up) were arguing about something, the people next to our table were all quiet (one boy playing a vg, one girl on her tablet) and both parents looking at their smart phones. Wow!!!!!

      • clumsyfool
        April 15, 2013

        I think it’s sad. I’m not saying that the technology is bad, just that we have to get our priorities straight: people = more important than ipods, phones and what have you not.
        thanks for commenting! 🙂

  2. Believer
    April 15, 2013

    By the way, you should set up an account on BlogHer (it’s a blog where women can blog over wide range of topics), it’s a slow community to grow in, but I love to hang around there. Here’s the link and let me know when you do (if you decide to) so I can follow you. I’m trying to find your follow widget and can’t see it in your home page, I would also like to follow you in WordPress. When you set up your account make sure, your wordpress account is in your profile, so you can get backlinked to this blog.

    http://www.blogher.com/

    • clumsyfool
      April 15, 2013

      Thanks, I will do that and keep you up to date! 🙂

  3. Jordan Clary
    May 1, 2013

    Great post! I’ve had the same thoughts. I have a 21 year-old son and he always sounds shocked when I call him rather than send a text message.

    • clumsyfool
      May 1, 2013

      Thanks! It’s said really. what happend to good old conversations? I am only 19 (barely) and don’t really want to know how people will communicate (IF they do) in 20 years time…
      Thanks a lot for commenting 🙂

  4. Pingback: Shout-out to New Members! | Everyday Ambassador

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2013 by in Media.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,339 hits
